Second chances for ex-offenders through education

About Us

Our People


The trustees of the Longford Trust are Kevin Pakenham (chair), Hannah Billington, Rachel Billington, Victoria Greenwood, Tom Pakenham, John Podmore, and Jon Snow.


The Director of the Longford Trust is Peter Stanford.  The Scholarship and Mentoring Manager is Magdalen Evans. Our annual lecture is administered by Jill Dale.

The Patrons

The patrons of the Longford Trust are: David Astor CBE, Lord Blair, Gyles Brandreth, Bobby Cummines OBE, Ivan Fallon, Edward Fitzgerald QC, Lady Antonia Fraser, Damian Fraser, Orlando Fraser, Roger Graef, Valerie Grove, Benedict Gummer MP, Lady Hale, Judith Kazantzis, Miranda Kazantzis, Mary Kenny, Sir Peter Lloyd, Jenny Mackilligin, Andrew McCooey, Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor, Nigel Newton, Cristina Odone, Sir Anthony O’Reilly, Sir Michael Pakenham, Thomas Pakenham, Lord Ramsbotham, Baroness Scotland QC, Ketan Sheth, Peter Soros, Sir James Spooner, Clive Stafford Smith, the Revd Peter Timms, Bob Turney, Marina Warner and Ann Widdecombe.

Our Gratitude

The trust would like to record its gratitude to Lords Acton, Carter and Healey, to Josephine Hart, Sir Nicholas Henderson, Angela Lambert, the Hon Patrick Pakenham, Anthony Sampson, Sir Stephen Tumim and Lord Windlesham, all patrons of the trust who worked hard on our behalf but who have died in recent times.  And especially to Nat Billington, Lord Longford's grandson and a tireless trustee and mentor to our Longford Scholars, who died in September 2015.

Major Benefactors

The work of the Longford Trust is entirely dependent on donated funds. The trustees would like to thank the following past and present Major Benefactors:

The Aberdeen Asset Management Charitable Foundation, Accenture, The Bryan Adams Foundation, Michael Alen-Buckley, Charles Alexander, Lord Archer, Bronwen Astor, David Astor CBE, The Avenue Trust, Iain Balmain, Bank of America, Lionel Barber, Diana and Nicholas Baring, Nat and Hannah Billington, Lord Black of Crossharbour, Sir Christopher and Lady Bland, Stephen and Nuala Blaney, The Blavatnik Family Foundation, Bloomsbury Publishing plc, Cherie Booth QC, Gyles Brandreth, Bridgewater Associates, RJ Clark, Richard Collins, Shirley Conran, The Violet and Milo Cripps Charitable Trust, The Daily Telegraph, The Earl of Dartmouth, The Alex and William de Winton Trust, Guy and Ruth East, The Esmee Fairbairn Foundation, The Forte Charitable Trust, Lady Antonia Fraser DBE, Benjie Fraser, Damian Fraser, Orlando Fraser, The Robert Gavron Charitable Trust, The Paul Hamlyn Foundation, Lord Haskins, The Hawthorne Charitable Trust, Kate Hill, Sir Harold Hood's Charitable Trust, The Independent (Independent Print Ltd), Investec Asset Management, Jefferies International, Rachel Kelly and Sebastian Grigg, The KW Charitable Trust, The Linbury Trust, Lou Lockhart-Mummery, The Lund Trust - a charitable fund of Peter Baldwin and Lisbet Rausing, The Man Charitable Trust, Gracia McGrath OBE, The McGrath Charitable Trust, Nigel McNair Scott, The L Messel Trust, The Monument Trust, The Miles Morland Foundation, Richard I Morris Jr, Northern Dairies' Educational Trust, Northern Rock Foundation, The Northwick Trust, The Ofenheim Charitable Trust, Richard Oldfield, Kevin Pakenham, Thomas Pakenham, the estate of the late Henrietta Phipps, Richard Pollitzer, Charlie Porter, Porticus UK, The Rank Foundation, The Sigrid Rausing Trust, Reed Elsevier plc, The Rothschild Foundation, Jon Snow, Peter Soros, The Jessie Spencer Trust, Sir James Spooner, Sir Sigmund Sternberg, The Stone Family Foundation, Thames River Capital, The John Thaw Foundation, Lady Juliet Townsend, Marina Warner, The Wates Family Enterprise Trust, Unilink Technology Services, The University of Westminster, Lord Weidenfeld, The Wilmington Trust, The Woodward Charitable Trust and The Worshipful Company of Grocers.

Contibutors to the Patrick Pakenham Education Award

The trustees would also like to thank the following who contributed to the Longford Trust's special appeal to set up the Patrick Pakenham Educational Award:

Etienne Allard, The Hon Eleanor Berry, Len Blavatnik, Viscount and Viscountess Boyd, Viscount Camrose, Sir Timothy Cassel QC, Lord Charles Cecil, Michele Claudel-Meyer, The Clore Duffield Foundation, Dolly Costopoulos, Harriet Cullen, Lady Marygaye GL Curzon, La Baronne Deschamps, Mrs VN Embiricos, Mrs Mel Ferrer, Benjie and Orlando Fraser, Mrs Drue Heinz, Christophe Gollut, Mrs Robin Hambro, Laurence and Linda Kelly, Henry Keswick, Richard King, Ivor Lask, Sir Mark Lennox-Boyd, Lady Lever, Mark and Marguerite Littman, Katherine, Viscountess Macmillan of Ovenden, Alidad Mahloudji, Jane Martelli, John Mathew, EJB Mavroleon, David McDonough, Alain Mertens, John Nash, Thomas and Valerie Pakenham, Mr and Mrs Charles Palmer-Tompkinson, Lord Reay, James Reeve, Sir Richard Rougier, Ned Ryan, Peter Saunders, Sonia Sinclair, The Countess Sondes, Peter Soros, Lady Juliet Townsend, Baron Wenceslas DeTraux De Wardin, Jan van Raemdonck and Robert Waddington.